Cornbread…


Cornbread galore! I haven’t attempted to make cornbread since I was in 5th grade. I also attempted to make my own butter that year as well. It was all for a class project as well. 5th grade was by far my favorite year of school. We made castles and learned about the medieval times as well as farm life before all the modern day technologies. Which is how I ended up making homemade butter. After that schooling became less creative and less hands on, but I still made it through…barely.

I don’t know a lot of places that serve cornbread, but, there’s a restaurant up in Maine, called the Maine Diner, they serve the best corn muffins ever. They of course also have a lot of other great food, but their corn muffins are delicious. My parents are absolutely in love with going there when they go up. But none the less I know this cornbread did not come even close to those muffins, it’s still a good recipe.


I used the recipe right off the back of the Bob’s Redmill Cornmeal package. I diverted a little bit from it though because I try to avoid salt for the most part. So the original recipe has salt in it,but the one I made does not.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon of baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar 
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter

Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Line bread pan with baking spray. In a medium bowl mix together the dry ingredients. Add the egg, milk, and butter and mix well. Pour mixture into pan and bake for 20-25 minutes. Check at 20 minutes.

Please comment and let me know what you’d like to see next or what’s shit. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

