Welcome to Fall Sugar Cookies

Beginning of September has definitely brought on a longing for fall foliage and cooler weather to start. Sweater weather with a side of apple picking and pumpkin carving. And then there’s the grand finale with Halloween. You’re never too old to enjoy dressing up in costume and going out and having a good time. 

So, the idea for decorating my sugar cookies actually came from Pinterest. I wanted something that was fallesque. As you can see with the photos next to each other I may not have done something completely right, but they don’t look horrible. And really what matters is that they taste fantastic with and without the cookie frosting.

The photo on the right comes from Sweetopia, they were inspiration for my sugar cookies. I think I need to work on my frosting artwork though. It’s a little on the blobby side.

Grandma’s Splendid Sugar Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup butter or margarine 
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Blend sugar and butter. Add egg and milk and mix well. To the side of the mixture place the baking soda and pour the vinegar on the baking soda. Mix into batter. Add flour and baking powder as well as vanilla extract. Do not over mix dough. You do not want it to be over mixed. Chill in fridge for 10 – 15 minutes. Roll out in small amounts and cut out shapes. Heat oven to 400 degrees and bake for 8 minutes.

~~~

The icing recipe came from allrecipes.com. I was ill prepared for this recipe and so was forced to go on an excursion to the grocery store at 10PM. I’m surprised the place was still open. But none the less I got my Karo Light Corn Syrup.

Sugar Cookie Icing

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 2 teaspoons milk
  • 2 teaspoons light corn syrup
  • Food coloring for color

Mix the ingredients together in a bowl. Make sure sugar is mixed in well.

Decorate cookies! For decorating I made three different colors. I usually use pastry bags for holding the icing and dispersing it amongst the cookies. I did not have pastry bags, so I improvised with ziplock sandwich baggies and cut a tiny hole in one of the corners to dispense the icing from. It worked really well and I didn’t end up with icing all over the place like I normally do with pastry bags, because I could ziplock them closed. I started with an outline in red and filled in a little bit of the outside. Then changed up colors and filled in a little bit more, then filled in the rest with the third color. I then used a toothpick and started from the points of the leaves and gently dragged the toothpick in toward the center. Did this a few times and voilà!

Hope you all enjoyed! 

Leave a Reply

