Strawberry Mini Heart Pies

Tis the season for weddings! In honor of my two friends getting married in 15 days I have made mini heart shaped pies filled with strawberry filling. I have recently been spending a lot of time on Pinterest looking for the perfect idea for a bridal shower gift. I’m two days out from the bridal shower and still do not have a gift. I started to slightly freak out at the beginning of this week when I was asking around for a registry. There is none. I highly suggest a registry for those that are planning to get married. I’m afraid I’m going to get the same thing as everyone else. I know that is probably unlikely, but the fear is still there. So after many hours of scrolling I’ve found a couple of really cute ideas. I think I might be settled on one of them. I just now have to go out into the shopping world and purchase the items to make it with. Wish me luck, shopping is not one of my better hobbies.

As for the mini pies, I got the idea from searching bridal shower treats on Pinterest. So I have Well Plated to thank for the recipe. They were a delicious treat.


Pie Crust Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 4-5 tablespoons cold water

Mix together the flour, salt, and shortening. Should be a crumbly mixture at this point. Take water out of freezer and add 4-5 tablespoons of cold water and mix. Do not over mix or dough will not be easy to work with. Roll dough out on to floured surface and cut out heart shapes with cookie cutter. Place on baking sheet, making sure to set aside enough hearts to cover the ones on the cookie sheet.

Strawberry Filling:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Strawberry pie filling
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest

Zest the lemon and mix the zest into the strawberry filling. With a teaspoon dollop a bit of filling onto the hearts sitting on the baking sheet. 

Cover with the second heart. Around the edge of the heart use a fork and press down leaving a design around the edge. There will be some filling that escapes. Then with a knife cut two slits like snake nostrils on the top.

Topping:

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Large grain sugar.

Beat egg well. Brush egg on the top of the heart pies, thinly covering the top layer. Then sprinkle sugar on top of hearts.

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Bake for 11 minutes.

Then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

