šŸŽšŸ Apple Pie

“Pie without cheese is like a kiss without a squeeze.” – Grandpa

I’ve been told so many times, since I moved, that its weird that I eat cheese with my apple pie. I guess a large scoop of vanilla ice cream is the more appropriate combination. I can see it being tasty no doubt, but I still like my aged sharp cheddar on the side.

In my family my Dad is the person who makes the best apple pie. My Mums is okay, but my Dads is always over flowing with apples and just has a fantastic flavor. So upon making this pie I probably should have planned it better so that I could have called my Dad to get his recipe. Sadly it was 7:30PM and the man had to get up for work at 11PM so I didn’t want to wake him. Then I thought of calling my Mum. Well turned out she had a three hour training that evening. I know she would have picked up, but she would have worried something was wrong. So instead I went with my brother. I have a long history of calling my brother only when I’m in trouble and need advice on how to get out of the mess. For instance the time I was picked up by the police and sent to the drunk house and eventually ended up in the hospital. So when I called, I don’t think he was expecting me to ask about an apple pie filling recipe. At first, he told me there was this thing called the internet. And I told him all the recipes I had found online had weird stuff like lemon zest. I wasn’t looking to zest lemons. So, eventually, he found the pie pan my parents gave them with the apple pie recipe on the bottom of it. Completely brilliant. So I went with that recipe. And it came out pretty well.

Pie Crust
Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 4-5 tablespoons cold water

Mix together flour and shortening until crumbly. Then add water. Do not over mix. Roll out on wax paper for easy transfer to pie pan.

Pie Filling

Ingredients:

  • 6 large apples (cortlands are good for baking)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (ground)

Mix together the ingredients and add to pie. Put top layer of crust over and pinch outside rim.

Cook for 30-45 mins at 425 degrees.

Cut and let cool.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑