Square Pumpkin Pie

I lost my round pie pan and did not realize it until I had already rolled out the pie crust. But before that I realized I did not have enough shortening for my pie crust, so I had to improvise with butter in the hopes that it would come out somewhat the same. I can’t make any promises that there isn’t massive holes under the filling from where the butter melted completely. Well they’ll find out Thursday when they cut into it. I’m pretty sure this pie wasn’t supposed to be made, because even after all the crust and pan issues, I had some major issues getting the can opener to actually open the can of pure pumpkin. Luckily I had an extra person around and they are far more intelligent with the can opener. But even after all of that I would say it doesn’t look too shabby. Success…well as long as it tastes okay.

This is but the beginning of the week of baking. This pie is actually for my friends thanksgiving with her family. I have to make something on Wednesday for my own family gathering on Thursday. I’m thinking another pie, but I might experiment with something else. So many options, so little time.

Pie Crust (for this one…)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Mix together ingredients and roll out onto parchment paper. Once It’s rolled out, transfer to pan and set aside.

Pumpkin Pie Filling

Ingredients:

  • 1 can pure pumpkin
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

 Mix together ingredients and put into crust. Heat oven to 350 degrees and bake for 40-45 minutes.

Take out, let cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

